For release
Further information: Contact Joseph Giomboni
King’s College Public Relations, (570) 208-5957

June 6, 2018 – Five King’s College faculty members recently received teaching awards or were named to established professorships.

Dr. Megan Lloyd, professor of English, was named the Manus Cooney Distinguished Service Professor. 

Dr. Denise Reboli, professor of education, was named the John H.A. Whitman Distinguished Service Professor. 

Dr. Tara Shawver, professor of accounting, was named to the John S. Davis Distinguished Service Professor.

Distinguished Service Professorships honor faculty who, because of their dedication to teaching and commitment to learning, serve as exemplary professors to their students.

Dr. Joel Shuman, professor of theology, was selected to receive the Hon. Max and Tillie Rosenn Award for Faculty Excellence.  The award is presented annually to an outstanding member of the faculty from among nominations by students and alumni.  

Jennifer Judge Yonkoski, instructor of English, was named the recipient of the Rev. Donald Grimes, C.S.C., Annual Award for Service-Learning Teaching Excellence.

Pictured at the awards dinner are, first row from left: recipients Dr. Megan Lloyd and Dr. Denise Reboli; Rev. John Ryan, C.S.C., president, King’s College; and recipients Jennifer Judge Yonkoski and Dr. Tara Shawver.  Pictured in second row, from left, is recipient Dr. Joel Shuman; Dr. Joseph Evan, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs; and Dr. Neal Bukeavich, Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs and Dean of Arts and Sciences.