Wilkes-Barre, Pa., February 17, 2023—Twenty teacher candidates from King’s College have received their teacher assignments at schools in local districts.

Student teachers will complete a 15-week placement that will lead to their certification in their area and grade level. Eight student teachers will be seeking dual certifications that will include PK-12 special education.

In addition to preparing undergraduate students for teaching certifications in Pennsylvania, the King’s College Education Department also offers a five-year program that leads to a bachelor’s degree in PK-4 and Special Education PK-12 with a master’s degree in Reading.

The College also offers standalone master’s degree programs in curriculum and instruction, special education, and reading. Endorsement programs in autism, English as a second language, instructional coaching, and STEM education are available. The department’s graduate and certificate programs are for individuals possessing a bachelor’s degree who wish to become certified teachers in elementary, secondary, or special education.

Standing (left to right): Brother Stephen LaMendola, C.S.C., Director of Student Teaching; Mrs. Doreen Lavan, Supervisor; Oksana Bartosiewicz, Dunmore School District; Jessica Smalley, WBA School District; Angelina Marchozzi, Dallas School District; Maria Perez, WBA School District; Jared Fulginiti, Pittston School District; Johnathan Evancho, Crestwood School District; Elizabeth Kravitz, GNA School District; Allessandra Rimkie, WBA School District; Sydney Leonard, Wyoming Area School District; Hailey Samsell, Riverside School District; Abigail Nee, King’s College Early Learning Center; Dr. Dara Soljaga, Associate Dean of Education; Mrs. Mary Louis Harris, Supervisor. Seated (left to right): Mrs. Lee Sikora, Supervisor; Misael Hernandez, Hazleton School District; Alexis VanFleet, WBA School District; Cheyenne Payne, Hazleton School District; Kristina Keithley, GNA School District; James Powell, GNA School District; Megan Small, WVW School District; Nicol Brito Polanco, Hazleton School District; Renee Rinehimer, Wyoming Area School District; Hannah Maruhnich, Wyoming Area School District; Mrs. Teresa McAndrew, Supervisor.