For Release
Further Information: Contact Julia Sutherland
Public Relations Office, (570) 208-5957

November 20, 2019 - The King’s College Mathematics Department hosted more than 110 students from 11 area high schools for its 5th annual mathematics competition.

Students participated in both individual and team competitions. Max Liu from Wyoming Seminary took the top spot for the individual competition and received a $1,500 scholarship to King’s that is renewable annually based on academic performance. Eric Jiang, also of Wyoming Seminary took second place and received a $1,000 scholarship to King’s renewable annually.

Wyoming Seminary placed first for the team competition, followed by Wyoming Valley West and MMI Prep.

One student from each high school was named “top finisher.” Each of those students received a $500 scholarship to King’s renewable annually. “Top finishers” were, Ekaterina Zhulyabina, Carlisle; Taylor Bartle, Greater Nanticoke Area; Jakob Narrow, Hazleton STEM; Ethan Mariano, Hazleton Area; Arthur Ames, Honesdale; Felix Rodriguez, Meyers; Ben Putnam, MMI Prep; Mia Chapman, Mount Carmel; Hannah Waleski, Pittston Area; Max Liu, Wyoming Seminary; and  Dylan Nastanski, Wyoming Valley West.

Pictured are student representatives from the participating high schools seated, from left, is Ben Putnam, MMI Prep; Tim Manello, E.L. Meyers; T.J. Connors, Pittston Area; Tyler Barnhardt, Mount Carmel; Danielle Eifert, Honesdale Area; Roy Wang, Wyoming Seminary; Bobbi Ann Chaban, Nanticoke Area; Eli Plant, Carlisle; and Michala Dennis, Wyoming Valley West.

Pictured standing, from left, are faculty representatives Susan Moyer, MMI Prep; Michael Ostrum, Meyers; James Kupetz, Pittston Area; Tammy Betsock, Mount Carmel; Christine Weigand, Honesdale Area; Jim Joherty, Wyoming Seminary; Barbara Warman, Nanticoke Area; Kelly Brent, Carlisle; and Ed Groth, Wyoming Valley West.

Absent from photo are student and faculty representatives from Hazleton Area and Hazleton STEM.