For Release
Further Information: Contact Julia Sutherland
Public Relations Office, (570) 208-5957

December 3, 2018 – The King’s College Mathematics Department hosted more than 110 students from 12 area high schools recently for its 4th annual mathematics competition.

Students participated in both individual and team competitions. Adam Jackson of Carlisle Area High School took the top spot for the individual competition and received a $1,500 scholarship to King’s that is renewable annually based on academic performance. Brendan Woods of Wyoming Valley West took second place and received a $1,000 scholarship to King’s renewable annually.

Wyoming Seminary placed first for the team competition, followed by MMI Prep and Wyoming Valley West.

One student from each high school was named “top finisher.” Each of those students received a $500 scholarship to King’s renewable annually. “Top finishers” were, Emily Getty, Berwick; Adam Jackson, Carlisle; Maria Perez, Coughlin; Fabiola Flores, Meyers; Christopher Cabonilas, Nanticoke; Jefferson Casado Feliz, Hazleton STEM; Kyra Zabretsky, Hazleton Area; Frederick Mejia, MMI Prep; Cade Geary, Mount Carmel; Thomas Conners, Pittston; Roy Wang, Wyoming Seminary; and Brendan Woods, Wyoming Valley West.

Pictured are student representatives from the participating high schools seated, from left, is Ethan Mariano, Hazleton Area; Alice Banks, Hazleton STEM; Andrew Stratton, Nanticoke Area; Cade Geary, Mount Carmel; Griffin Keller, Berwick; Frederick Mejia, MMI Prep; Adam Jackson, Carlisle; Kiersten Grieco, Pittston; Kaede Goodeliunas, Meyers; Nikolai Stefanov, Wyoming Seminary; and Maria Perez, Coughlin.

Pictured standing, from left, are faculty representatives Raffael Billett, Hazleton STEM; Barbara Warman, Nanticoke Area; Tammy Betsock, Mount Carmel; Todd Gunther, Berwick; Susan Moyer, MMI Prep; James Kupetz, Pittston; Micheal Ostrum, Meyers; Matt Fahnestock, Carlisle; Jim Doherty, Wyoming Seminary; and Alan Sowa, Coughlin; Eric Grego, King’s Admission.

Absent from photo are student and faculty representatives from Wyoming Valley West and a faculty representative from Hazleton Area.