For release
Further information contact: Julia Sutherland
Public Relations Office, (570) 208-5957

May 22, 2019 - Nineteen local residents recently received academic awards that were announced during King’s College’s Commencement weekend.

Pictured seated, from left, is Kelsey Gabriel, Plains, recipient of The Reverend James E. Kline Award for Mathematics; Alyssa Christian, Wilkes-Barre, recipient of the William G. McGowan School of Business Achievement Award for Marketing; Rebecca Battista, Pittston, recipient of The Accounting Association Award in Memory of Chris Karmonick; Cally Richardson, White Haven, recipient of The Regina Award for Biology, and The Dr. Paul Lawrence and Atty. Marian Buccafurni Best in Science Award; and Mackenzie McGeehan, Wilkes-Barre, recipient of The John P. Moses Award for Public Law and The Honorable Frank L. Pinola Award for the Pursuit of Law.

Pictured standing, from left, is Andrew Martinez, Wilkes-Barre, recipient of The Marie F. Luksic Memorial Award for Theatre; Haley Forgatch, Mountain Top, recipient of The Reverend George P. Benaglia Language Award; Jessica French, Drums, recipient of The S. Idris Ley Memorial Award for the Highest Academic Achievement; Tyler Scott, Ashley, recipient of The Susquehanna Valley Section, American Chemical Society Award; Alexis Wylam, Hanover Township, recipient of The Philadelphia Chapter, American Institute of Chemist Award; and Sean Maloney, Hanover Township, recipient of The Lee Sweinberg Jr. Memorial Award for Computer Science.

Absent from photo were Phaedra Joseph, Pittston, recipient of The 2019 King’s College Outstanding Adult Learner of the Year Award; Robert Bamrick, Inkerman, recipient of The Award of the Bishop Hafey Assembly Fourth Degree Knights of Columbus for History; Joshua Kramer, Duryea, recipient of The John F. Curley, CPA, Award for Accounting Achievement; Jaclyn Victor, Nanticoke, recipient of The Temple B’nai B’rith Award for Public Administration; Nathanial Dyanick, Wilkes-Barre, recipient of The S. Idris Ley Memorial Award for the Highest Academic Achievement and The Grace Coakley Brooks Award for Excellence in Psychology; Tristin Milazzo, Hanover Township, recipient of The Robert A. Lodge Memorial Award for Graduate Study and The Donald W. Farmer Memorial Award for History; and Michael Symeon, Shavertown,  recipient of The Award of the Pennsylvania Institute of Certified Public Accountants for Accounting.